West Chester, PA
The city of West Chester, originally called Turks Head, has been the county seat for more than two hundred years. Chester County was created in 1692 from lands granted by King Charles II to William Penn. First settlers were Quakers from England, German immigrants came later.
Nestled in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, West Chester reflects the small-town charm and cosmopolitan tastes that prompted The Philadelphia Inquirer to call West Chester ". . . one of the world's most perfect small towns" (July 26, 2001).
The small downtown district is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. High Street is a showcase for Greek Revival architecture and within the Borough limits. There are over 3,000 structures dating back to the colonial period. A walk around the town on a nice day is a delight. It is a restaurant mecca, and offers visitors many places to explore and enjoy including small antique shops and art galleries.
Click here for West Chester Downtown.
The corner of High St. and Gay Streets, pictured above, is the site of Turks Head's first school house built out of logs in 1760. It was used as a hospital for the American wounded after the Battle of Brandywine, Sept. 1777. Some of the soldiers who died were buried in the schoolyard. A West Chester Historical plaque marks the spot in front of the Iron Hill Brewery.